When you’ve been injured in an auto accident, it can seem like an uphill battle in getting your costs paid by the at-fault party and the insurance company. Florida is a no-fault state for auto insurance.
This means that you can recover funds that cover a portion of your damages from your own auto insurance company regardless of whose fault the accident was. Read on to learn more about what you can expect in dealing with your auto insurance provider to get some of your losses covered.
You Need To Carry PIP & PDL Coverage
By Florida law you are required to carry both personal injury protection (PIP) coverage and property damage liability (PDL) coverage on your auto insurance policy. The amount you purchase must be a minimum of $10,000 each, but can go as high as $50,000 or more depending on who your insurance provider is and how much you want to spend on your auto insurance premium.
Personal injury protection protects you, your family, and anyone else who is riding with you in your vehicle when involved in a car crash and suffer injuries that require medical attention. PIP covers a portion of your medical expenses and property damage up to the limits of your policy.
If you accrue $6,500 worth of medical bills and damages to your vehicle and you carry the $10,000 minimum coverage, you can expect your expenses to be covered completely by your own auto insurance policy. Florida is unique from most other no-fault insurance states, in that do not require you to carry bodily injury liability (BIL). BIL covers additional medical expenses and funeral costs should they become necessary.
Property damage liability covers any property damage you might cause to another person’s property should you be responsible for causing the accident. For instance, if you rear-ended someone, your insurance provider would cover a portion of their damages up to the limits of your insurance policy. However, PDL doesn’t cover any damage done to your own property.
When You Meet The Threshold Of Your Auto Insurance Policy
The threshold of your auto insurance policy is essentially the limits of the policy you purchased. So, if you purchased the minimum $10,000 requirement, when you meet this limit, your insurance company doesn’t cover the additional expenses.
For example, if your accident caused $50,000 in damages and your insurance policy only covers damages up to $25,000, you must seek compensation from the at-fault party in order to recover your remaining damages.
Involved In A Motor Vehicle Accident? Work With An Attorney To Recover Your Damages
Your insurance company is only required to cover your damages up to the threshold of your policy. Even then, you can expect them to fight your claim for coverage, because they will lose money by paying out on your claim.
The car accident lawyers in Palm Beach can help you not only hold the insurance company accountable, but pursue a civil suit against the liable party, once your insurer meets the limits of your policy, if you need additional funds to cover your damages.